Scroll To Top
  • A
  • A
  • A
  • August 11, 2020, 10:26 pm
The IISER System
Home    The IISER System
The IISER System

Act & Statutes

   Gazette Notification NIT (Amendment) Act, 2012

   Comprehensive NIT Act, 2012

   Notification NIT Act, 2007

   Memorandum of Association

   Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Admission) Act, 2006

The Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC-PM) under the Chairmanship of Prof. C.N.R. Rao, recommended creation of five new institutions devoted to science education and research to be named “Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research” broadly on the lines of IISc. Bangalore. Five such Institutes have already been established at Kolkata, Pune, Mohali, Bhopal and Thiruvananthapuram.

The vision of these institutes encompasses creation of research centres of the highest caliber in which teaching and education in basic sciences will be totally integrated with state-of-the-art research. These Institutions are devoted to under-graduate and post-graduate teaching in sciences in an intellectually vibrant atmosphere of research and make education and career in basic sciences more attractive by providing opportunities in integrative teaching and learning of sciences. The goals of these institutes, inter alia, are: -

  1. To create quality education and research in basic sciences.
  2. To attract and nurture high-quality academic faculty.
  3. To create integrated Masters Programme in sciences, in order to provide entry into research at a younger age. In addition, the Institutes will have integrated programmes leading to Masters and Ph.Ds to those who hold a Bachelor’s degree in science.
  4. To make possible a flexible borderless curriculum in sciences.
  5. To actively forge strong relationship with existing universities and colleges and network with laboratories and institutions.

To establish advanced Research Laboratories and Central facilities.

Admission in undergraduate courses in IISERs is through extended merit list of IIT-Joint Entrance Examination, Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) and Direct Admission based on class X & XII performance in science stream.

List of IISERs:

  1. Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Kolkata

    IISER Kolkata was established in August 2006. The central theme of the IISER - K is to integrate education with research so that undergraduate teaching as well as doctoral and postdoctoral research work could be carried out in symbiosis.

    IISER K offers the Integrated B.S - M.S Programme , M.S Programme, Integrated Ph.D Programme, Ph.D Programme & Post-Doctoral Programme.

  2. Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune

    The Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Pune is a premier institute dedicated to research and teaching in the basic sciences was established in 2006.

    Integrated Masters (M.S.) program aims to integrate the conventional bachelors and masters programs into a more holistic science education experience, bringing together conventional disciplines in the biological, chemical, mathematical and physical sciences. The program focuses on the unified nature of science and aims to train some of the brightest young minds of our country, through some of the best practitioners of science in India.

  3. Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Mohali

    The Indian Institute of Science Education & Research (IISER) Mohali has been established as an autonomous academic institution in 2007, to carry out research in frontier areas of science and provide quality science education at the undergraduate and postgraduate level. The broad focus of IISER Mohali is to integrate excellence in scientific research with education.

    The academic activity of IISER Mohali is interdisciplinary in nature, with a focus on the basic sciences. The emphasis is on expanding the frontiers of knowledge while focusing on the fundamentals of science. IISER Mohali's major thrust areas are: Physical Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Computer Science, Material Science and Environment & Earth System Science.

    IISER Mohali offers the Integrated Master's level (M.S.) Programme, Doctoral Program (PhD) and Integrated Doctoral Program (Int. PhD).

  4. Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Bhopal

    The Indian Institute of Science Education & Research (IISER) Bhopal was established in 2008, with a mission to provide high quality science education to Undergraduate and post-graduate students. The prime focus is to integrate science education and research with a motive of attracting bright students and world class faculties.

    Currently, IISER Bhopal offers BS-MS (Dual Degree) programme and Ph.D. programme.

  5. Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Thiruvananthapuram

    The Indian Institute of Science Education & Research (IISER) Thiruvananthapuram was established in August 2008, and is dedicated to scientific research and science education of international standards.

    IISER-TVM offers five year integrated MS and Ph.D programmes in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and inter-disciplinary areas.